Posted on

Playing The System

I made a Facebook status the other day that seemed to irritate some people. It was about people who bring $300 of groceries to the checkout but only have $100 in foodstamps. It started a debate about people who abuse the system and their race. Some people too what i said wrong and pissed me off (also resulting in my blocking them). I’d like to take this opportunity to clear up my position on this issue:

Foodstamps and Welfare are there for people who do not have the means to provide for themselves. I support helping people 100%. I’d be lying if I said that my family has never used them. I’m thankful they were there to help us. My issue is with the people who want something for nothing. People who breed for a living. People who sit on their asses waiting for someone to hand them something when they won’t do for themselves. I can’t stand someone who thinks the world owes them something. We don’t owe you shit! I work. I like to work. I love the feeling I get when I pay for something because I’ve earned it. It’s very satisfying. I don’t like people who avoid jobs so it doesn’t mess with their foodstamps. It’s ridiculous. Don’t get me wrong, there are exceptions. Not everyone can work. Some people are disabled. If you can’t work that’s understandable. It’s people who won’t work that make me nuts.

I hope my feelings don’t seem harsh but I see this everyday at work. At least half of our foodstamp orders are from able bodied lazy asses. Seeing this everyday for 7 years would make anyone crazy.

One response to “Playing The System

  1. I truly appreciate this article. Will read on…

Leave a Reply

