Posted on

Do’s and Don’t’s of Customers

Today I want to talk about something that’s very near and dear to me. We are going to talk about the DO’S and DON’T’S of being a customer in a grocery store. Not all of you know about my store and it’s shoppers. We don’t have the best bred or higher educated residents of Anderson come into our store. Not all of then are bad, but many of them are. We have mean and hateful people, we have sweet people, we have ‘slow’ people………we have them all. So let’s get to the list:

DO stay off of your cell phone while checking out. That’s rude and makes you look like an asshole.

DON’T jingle your keys in my face. I’ll ask for your plus card, shaking them at me does not remind me, it pisses me off.

DO be finished shopping once you’re in line. I hate it when someone unloads their cart and I start ringing and they decide they need to go to three more aisles but I’m expected to wait for you. Seriously!

DON’T call me ‘hey’. That’s not my name. I have a name tag on for a reason. If you can’t call me Josh the following are acceptable: sir, excuse me, pardon me

DO have your money ready when I’m finished ringing you out. You knew you were coming to the store. You shopped for 2 hrs and now you can’t find your money? What’s wrong with you!

DON’T bring a heaping order through the express check out. I don’t care if you are in a hurry, we all are. Why should express orders have to wait behind you? Because you think you are more important? I think not.

DO treat the cashier like they are human. Too many times we are treated like trash. Talked to like we are stupid. I would like everyone to know that grocery is a good business. I do pretty well. So, kiss my butt, you are no better than I am.

DON’T blame the cashier for being over charged. ‘That girl charged me too much for my pop.’ No, the cashier did not. All the cashier did was scan your groceries. The computer over charged you. The cashiers do not set the prices. They do not program the prices. They have nothing to do with the prices.

Ok, that is just the short list. Can you think of anything to add to the list?

Josh

2 responses to “Do’s and Don’t’s of Customers

  1. stacey ⋅

    Amen to that!! One more for ya….TAKE A BATH BEFORE YOU GO TO THE STORE!!! Nobody wants to smell that!!

  2. Jon ⋅

    Would add one more DON’T

    DON’T go telling the uscan attendent that I takeing away jobs. Rude and not true.

    Good post

Leave a Reply

